The Solomon Islands archipelago consists of more than 900 islands. There are 10 provinces, including Honiara, the capital city. The majority of Solomon Islanders are Melanesian. On gaining independence from Britain in 1978, Solomon Islands inherited the Westminster system of government. “Customary law,” known as kastom, which varies across the archipelago, is a recognized source of law under the constitution. The Christian churches are also extremely important in Solomon Islands societies.

Women's roles in the family, tribe, community, and church are highly regarded and respected. These roles also were important in their roles as mediators and peacemakers in conflict. More recently, an assessment of women in employment showed that more women are now working in the public and private sector.

Despite these gains, a key emerging ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles