University of Edinburgh

THE UNIVERSITY OF Edinburgh (UE) is located in Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom. Its mission is to “advance and disseminate knowledge and understanding.” The UE was established in 1582 by a Royal Charter of King James VI and the university is one of the largest in the United Kingdom.

It is currently comprised of three main colleges. These are the Colleges of Humanities and Social Sciences, Science and Engineering, and Medicine and Veterinary Medicine. The Scottish Gaelic name for the University of Edinburgh is Oiltbigb Dkun Eideann. Among UE alumni are famous intellectuals including Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Robert Louis Stevenson, and the pioneering evolutionary biologist Charles Darwin.

The UE boasts a major research institute for the investigation of stem cells—the UE Institute for Stem Cell Research (ISCR). ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles