• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Palestinian Territories

The Palestinian Territories, also known as the Palestinian Authority (PA), began to function as a fiscal authority in 1994 as a result of the Oslo Accords, which was signed by the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) and the government of Israel. The PA comprises two territories: the West Bank and the Gaza Strip (WBGS). The PA covers a total area of 2,305 square miles (5,970 square kilometers) in the West Bank and 141 square miles (365 square kilometers) in the Gaza Strip.

The PA is a land of uncertain borders, yet to be established as permanent. According to the United Nations, the gross domestic product per capita for the PA in 2009 was $1,367. The PA population was estimated at 4.3 million in July 2012. In ...

    • Loading...
    locked icon

    Sign in to access this content

    Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

    • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
    • Read modern, diverse business cases
    • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles