The Federation of Malaysia is a rapidly advancing southeast Asian nation. It consists of two parts: Peninsular Malaysia, which is also known as West Malaysia and has 11 states and two federal territories, and East Malaysia, which has two states and one federal territory. These two wings are separated by the South China Sea, and East Malaysia is located 400 miles (640 kilometers) away on the Borneo island.

Malaysia shares its borders with Thailand in the north, Indonesia in the south, and the Philippines in the east. It shares common maritime boundaries with Brunei, Singapore, and Vietnam, in addition to Indonesia, the Philippines, and Thailand. It has an area of 127,320 square miles (329,847 square kilometers). According to the World Bank, the estimated population of Malaysia ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles