Hungary is situated in central Europe, with an area of 35,910 square miles (93,030 square kilometers). The terrain, mostly flat, includes low mountains in the north, a temperate climate, and is bordered by Slovakia to the north, Romania and Ukraine to the east, Serbia and Croatia to the south, Slovenia to the southwest, and Austria to the west. The Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook estimates the population of Budapest, the capital city, at 2 million people (2012). Other principal cities are Debrecen, Miskolc, Szeged, and Pecs. Hungary joined the European Union (EU) in 2004, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) in 1999, and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in 1996. Hungarian, also known as Magyar, is the official language. The economy depends ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles