Florida is the 22nd-largest state in the nation, with a total area of 58,560 square miles. The state of Florida is a peninsula bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the east and the Gulf of Mexico to the west. Approximately 54,136 square miles of Florida's total area is land, while water comprises 4,424 square miles.

The capital of Florida is located in Tallahassee. The executive branch of the government comprises the governor and cabinet consisting of the attorney general, chief financial officer, and commissioner of agriculture. While the state has a 6 percent sales tax, there is no state income tax in Florida. The state legislature consists of 120 House districts, and 40 Senate districts. Prior to the 2012 redistricting process, Florida had 25 congressional districts. ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles