• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Islam, Five Pillars of

The five pillars are the most important practices of Islam: the shahadah (profession), salat (prayer), sawm (fasting), zakat (charity), and hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca). The shahadah, the profession Muslims make that there is no god but God, and Muhammad is his ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles