A characteristic of the socialist law tradition is the existence of people's courts. The most important example of this today is in the People's Republic of China, where there are four levels of courts: (1) the Supreme People's Court, (2) the High People's Courts, (3) the Intermediate People's Courts, and (4) the Basic Level People's Courts. The Supreme People's Court is responsible for interpretation of laws, administration of the judiciary, and adjudication; it also participates in certain legislative activities. Internally, the state divides Chinese courts into substantive divisions such as civil, criminal, and administrative; case filing and adjudicative supervision divisions; and administrative divisions. There are also various Chinese Communist Party (CCP) organs within the court, including the Party Group (dangzu), the Party Institutional Unit (jiguan ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles