United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) consists of the seven small emirates—Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras al-Khaimah, Ajman, Fujairah, and Umm al-Qaiwain—that were united as a federal state in 1971. Before the establishment of the oil economy in the early 1960s, two main orientations shaped traditional Emirati culture: (1) the nomadic, desertoriented Bedouins with small oasis farming and (2) the ocean-oriented culture that revolved around pearling and sea trading. These subcultures were economically, politically, and socially interdependent, creating a common culture and social identity. The UAE shares significant aspects of its culture with neighboring Arab countries and the larger Arab culture.

The commercial production of oil triggered rapid population growth as a result of an increase in the national population from improvements in health care and living ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles