The Republic of Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean with a total area of 718 square miles (1 mile = 1.609 kilometers) and a population of approximately 1.2 million, half of which is Hindu. French colonial rule lasted from 1767 to 1810, when the British captured the island. Mauritius became independent in 1968. The French settlers brought slaves from Africa and India, and following the abolition of slavery, Indian indentured workers were brought in great numbers. The Chinese came to the island as traders and merchants. Mauritius did not have any indigenous population. The Mauritius constitution provides for freedom of religion, and there is no state religion in the country. Religious organizations that were present prior to independence, namely, the Roman Catholic ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles