Left behind Series

The Left Behind series came to national prominence in the United States in the late 1990s. A sequence of 12 books written by Timothy LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins, two popular evangelical writers, it traces the events of the biblical “end times” as they have been interpreted by certain Protestant groups in the United States and England. The story begins with the “rapture,” an event in which Jesus secretly takes all true believers to heaven. For those left behind, the world quickly falls into chaos, and the novels trace the 7 years of a period of suffering, called the “tribulation,” ending with an apocalyptic battle between Satan and Jesus. None of this story is original to LaHaye and Jenkins but instead stems from an approximately 100-year-old ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles