The Ivy League is made up of eight private colleges and universities in the Northeast United States: Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, and Yale. Although the Ivy League is technically an athletic conference it is often more renowned for highly selective and competitive admissions criteria, high and traditional academic standards, and financial endowment. The Council of Ivy Group Presidents is the governing body and determines common procedures. All but Cornell were founded before the U.S. Revolution, are among the oldest higher education institutions in the United States, and provided most of the earliest academic infrastructure for the American Colonies, including school founders, boards, administrators, and distinguished faculty. This entry describes the history, the characteristics, and importance of Ivy League schools ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles