United States, Midwest

The midwest region of the United States generally refers to lands that were part of the Northwest Territories during the time of the Articles of Confederation. Midwestern states include Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. Much of the region is flat prairie lands, but other land types surround it. The great Mississippi and Ohio Rivers flow through it.

Ohio is bounded by Pennsylvania and West Virginia in the east and southeast, Lake Erie in the north, the Ohio River in the south, and Indiana in the west. If a line were drawn across Ohio from the northeast to the southwest, the area north of the line is in the Central Plains, the area to the south is part of the Appalachian Plateau. ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles