Geographically, turkey is a euro-asian country. About three percent of Turkey is in the Thracian area of southeastern Europe. Ninety-seven percent is in the western areas of Asia called the Near East (Middle East). About the size of Texas and Louisiana combined, it has an area of 301,384 square miles (780,580 square kilometers) and a population of over 68 million people in 2004.

Turkey has seven major regions: The Black Sea region, the Marmara region, the Aegean, the Mediterranean, Central Anatolia, East Anatolia and Southeast Anatolia. The Black Sea coast extends from the Bosporus Strait to Georgia. Along the coast are the Northern Mountains running east until they meet the Pontic Mountains about mid-way along the Black Sea coast. The Northern and Pontic Mountains receive enough ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles