• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Superfund sites are areas of land in the United States that are identified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as contaminated by abandoned hazardous waste. As of 2006, there were over 12,000 Superfund sites listed in EPA's Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Information System (CERCLIS). Just over 1,200 of these sites were also included on EPA's 2006 Final National Priorities List (NPL), which consists of the CERCLIS sites deemed the most dangerous to human health and the environment. Sites on the National Priorities List are eligible for long-term remediation under the federal Superfund Program, created by the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) of 1980 and renewed by the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) of 1986.

Definitions and Procedures

There are ...

    • Loading...
    locked icon

    Sign in to access this content

    Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

    • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
    • Read modern, diverse business cases
    • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles