Solomon Islands

The solomon islands consist of seven major islands and 30 smaller islands, mainly islets, covering a land mass of 28,370 square kilometers. The main islands are predominantly high islands dominated by mountainous forests, though the country also includes a number of smaller outlying atolls. The Solomon Islands comprise a country rich in natural resources, especially forestry, minerals, and fisheries. The economy is primarily based upon timber, fisheries, palm oil, cocoa, and copra. However, these resources have been poorly regulated and managed and, in the face of one of the fastest population growth rates in the region (3.6 percent per annum on an estimated population in 2005 of 450,000), have not been translated into wealth. Consequently despite these natural resources, the Solomon Islands remain one of ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles