• Entry
  • Entries A-Z

At the federal level, the upper house of Congress. As outlined in Article 1 of the U.S. Constitution, Congress is made up of two Houses, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate provides equal representation (two Senators) for each state, while the House provides representation proportional to a state's population. Senators are elected to six-year terms and the House representatives to two-year terms. The Senate holds the exclusive powers of making treaties and approval of nominations to the president's cabinet, appointment of federal judges, and ambassadorships. In addition, only the Senate can try a public official for a crime against the United States. A bill can be introduced in either House, except for bills raising revenue, which can only be introduced in the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles