• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Howling monkeys are a group of New World Monkeys (NWM) belonging to the subfamily Alouattinae and genus Alouatta. There are eight species of howling monkeys—the red-handed howler (Alouatta belzebul), black-and-gold howler (A. caraya), Coiba Island howler (A. coibensis), brown howler (A.fusca), mantled howler (A. ...

    • Loading...
    locked icon

    Sign in to access this content

    Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

    • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
    • Read modern, diverse business cases
    • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles