The Haya (also known as Ekihaya, Ruhaya, Ziba, and Kihaya) constitute one of the dominant ethnic and linguistic groups in Tanzania, the largest being the Sukuma and the Nyamwezi. The latter occupy the region to the southwest of the Haya. Originally from West Uganda, the Haya people migrated from this region to Tanzania to escape endless wars. They currently live along the shores of Lake Victoria in the Bukoba District of the Kagera Region in the extreme northwest.

The language of the Haya people is also known as Haya and is one of several Niger-Congo languages spoken by the people of Tanzania west and northwest of Lake Victoria. It comprises a number of dialects, including Bumbira, Edangabo, Ganda-Kiaka, Hamba, Hangiro, Mwani, Nyakisisa, Ekiziba, and Yoza, which ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles