Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Established: By the Treaty of Windhoek, signed August 17, 1992, in Windhoek, Namibia, by representatives from the ten members of the former Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC); Agreement Amending the Treaty signed August 14, 2001, in Blantyre, Malawi.

Purpose: To achieve self-sustaining development and economic growth based on collective self-reliance and interdependence; to achieve sustainable use of natural resources while protecting the environment; to promote and defend regional peace and security; to enhance the standard of living through regional integration, including establishing a free trade area.

Headquarters: Gaborone, Botswana.

Principal Organs: Summit Meeting of Heads of State and Government; SADC Tribunal; Council of Ministers; Organ on Politics, Defense and Security Cooperation; Sectoral/Cluster Ministerial Committees; SADC Secretariat; Standing Committee of Senior Officials; SADC National Committees.


Executive Secretary: Dr. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles