Established: As the South Pacific Forum by a subgroup of the South Pacific Commission meeting August 5, 1971, in Wellington, New Zealand; current name adopted October 3–5, 1999, effective October 2000.

Purpose: To facilitate cooperation among member states, to coordinate their views on political issues of concern to the subregion, and to accelerate member states’ rates of economic development.

Headquarters: Suva, Fiji.

Principal Organs: The Forum, Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat.


Secretary General of Forum Secretariat: Meg Taylor (Papua New Guinea).

Membership (18): Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Associate Members (1): Tokelau.

Observers (9): American Samoa, Timor-Leste, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Wallis and Futuna, Asian ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles