Organization For Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Economique (OCDE)

Established: By convention signed December 14, 1960, in Paris, France, effective September 30, 1961.

Purpose: “To help member countries promote economic growth, employment, and improved standards of living through the coordination of policy [and]…to help promote the sound and harmonious development of the world economy and improve the lot of the developing countries, particularly the poorest.”

Headquarters: Paris, France.

Principal Organs: Council (all full members plus the European Commission), Executive Committee (14 members), Economic Policy Committee, Development Assistance Committee, Secretariat.


Secretary General: Ángel Gurría (Mexico).

Membership (37): Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Colombia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Slovakia, Slovenia, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles