Established: Originally formed as the Group of Seven (G-7) during the San Juan, Puerto Rico, summit of leading industrial democracies held on June 27–28, 1976; first met as the kindred Group of Eight (G-8) after the addition of Russia as a formal participant at the May 15–17, 1998, G-7 summit in Birmingham, United Kingdom.

Purpose: To discuss problems relating to “geopolitical and security issues, the partnership with Africa in its dual political and economic dimensions, and subjects of common interest to the G-8 countries, facing specific challenges.”

Principal Organs: The G-8 has one formal organ as such—the presidency. There are also annual summits, twice-a-year (and ad hoc) meetings of finance ministers and central bank governors, and other meetings of government ministers and officials.

Website: (The G-8 has ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles