• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

República Bolivariana de Venezuela

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed in 1821 as part of Gran Colombia; independent republic established in 1830; federal constitutional system restored in 1958. Current constitution approved by referendum on December 15, 1999.

Area: 358,850 sq. mi. (916,445 sq. km).

Population: 28,870,000 (2020E—World Bank); 28,644,603 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): CARACAS (2,923,000), Maracaibo (2,229,000), Valencia (1,757,000), Maracay (1,186,000), Barquisimeto (1,044,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Bolívar soberano (market rate September 30, 2020: 449,592.76 bolívares soberano = $1US). [Note: The bolívar soberano replaced the bolívar fuerte on August 20, 2018.]

President: Nicolás MADURO (United Socialist Party of Venezuela); inaugurated on April 19, 2013, for a five-year term, following the death of Lt. Col. (Ret.) Hugo Rafael CHÁVEZ Frías (United Socialist Party of Venezuela) on March 5, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles