• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Vanuatu

République de Vanuatu (French)

Ripablik blong Vanuatu (Bislama)

Political Status: Formerly the New Hebrides; became the Anglo-French Condominium of the New Hebrides in 1906; present name adopted upon becoming an independent member of the Commonwealth on July 30, 1980.

Area: 4,647 sq. mi. (12,035 sq. km).

Population: 299,882 (2020E—World Bank); 298,000 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2015E—UN): VILA (Port Vila, 53,000).

Official Languages: English, French, and Bislama. The latter, a pidgin dialect, is recognized constitutionally as the “national language,” and efforts are currently under way to accord it equal status with English and French as a medium of instruction. Vanuatu has the highest density of languages per capita in the world, with an estimated 138 languages, or slightly less than 1 per 2,000 inhabitants.

Monetary Unit: Vatu (official rate September ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles