• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Oriental Republic of Uruguay

República Oriental del Uruguay

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed in 1825; republic established in 1830; presidential-congressional system reinstated on March 1, 1985, supplanting military-controlled civilian government in power since February 1973.

Area: 68,037 sq. mi. (176,215 sq. km).

Population: 3,477,000 (2020E—World Bank); 3,473,730 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2020E—World Population Review): MONTEVIDEO (1,752,388, urban area).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Uruguayan Peso (market rate September 30, 2020: 42.48 pesos = $1US).

President: Luis LACALLE Pou (National Party); elected in runoff balloting on November 24, 2019, and inaugurated on March 1, 2020, for a five-year term, succeeding Tabaré Ramón VÁZQUEZ Rosas (Progressive Encounter–Broad Front); named a new government on March 1, 2020.

Vice President: Beatriz ARGIMÓN Cedeira (National Party); appointed by the president on March 1, 2020, succeeding Lucia TOPOLANSKY (Progressive ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles