United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy, under democratic parliamentary regime.

Area: 94,249 sq. mi. (244,104 sq. km), embracing England and Wales, 58,382 sq. mi. (151,209 sq. km); Scotland, 30,415 sq. mi. (78,775 sq. km); Northern Ireland, 5,452 sq. mi. (14,120 sq. km).

Population: 66,488,000 (2020—World Bank); 65,761,117 (2020—U.S. Census)

Major Urban Centers (2018—World Population Review): England: LONDON (urban area, 10,313,000), Birmingham (1,137,100), Liverpool (491,500), Leeds (784,800), Sheffield (577,800), Bristol (459,300), Manchester (545,500); Wales: CARDIFF (362,800); Scotland: EDINBURGH (476,000), Glasgow (593,200); Northern Ireland: BELFAST (340,200).

Principal Language: English (Scottish and Irish forms of Gaelic are spoken in portions of Scotland and Northern Ireland, respectively, while Welsh is spoken in northern and central Wales).

Monetary Unit: Pound Sterling (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.78 pound = $1US).

Sovereign: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles