• Country
  • Countries A-Z

United Arab Emirates

al-Imarat al-Arabiyah al-Muttahidah

Political Status: Federation of six former Trucial States (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Qaiwain) established December 2, 1971; the seventh, Ras al-Khaimah, joined on February 10, 1972.

Area: 32,278 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km).

Population: 9,630,959 (2019E—World Bank); 9,843,829 (2019E—U.S. Census). Comprises seven sovereign emirates: Dubai (1,137,347, 2019E—World Population Review); Abu Dhabi (603,492, 2019E—World Population Review), Sharjah (543,733, 2019E, World Population Review); Al Ain (408,733, 2019E—World Population Review); Ajman (226,172, 2019E—World Population Review); Ras al-Khaimah (115,949, 2019E—World Population Review); Fujairah (62,415, 2019E—World Population Review); and Umm al-Qaiwain (44,411, 2019E—World Population Review).

Major Urban Center (2019E—World Population Review): DUBAI (1,137,347).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Emirati Dirham (market rate September 30, 2020: 3.67 dirhams = $1US).

Supreme Council: Composed of the rulers of the seven emirates (in ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles