• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Albania

Republika e Shqipëri

Political Status: Independent state since 1912; Communist regime established in 1946; interim democratic constitution adopted April 29, 1991; permanent constitution approved by national referendum on November 22, 1998, and signed into law by the president on November 28.

Area: 11,100 sq. mi. (28,748 sq. km).

Population: 2,865,000 (2020E—World Bank); 3,100,000 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—Government): TIRANË (Tirana, 764,000), Durrës (232,291), Fier (117,292), Elbasan (100,903), Shkodër (88,245).

Official Language: Albanian.

Monetary Unit: Lek (market rate September 30, 2020: 105.75 lekë = $1US).

President: Ilir META (formerly Socialist Movement for Integration); elected in the fourth round of voting by the People’s Assembly on April 28, 2017, and sworn in on July 24, succeeding Bujar NISHANI (formerly Democratic Party of Albania [PDS]). (Upon election the president is constitutionally required ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles