Kingdom of Sweden

Konungariket Sverige

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established on June 6, 1809; under revised constitution effective January 1, 1975.

Area: 173,731 sq. mi. (449,964 sq. km).

Population: 10,421,000 (2020E—World Bank); 10,202,491 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—Government): STOCKHOLM (960,031), Göteborg (572,779), Malmö (312,012), Uppsala (217,401).

Official Language: Swedish.

Monetary Unit: Krona (official rate September 30, 2020: 9.02 kronor = $1US).

Sovereign: King CARL XVI GUSTAF; succeeded to the throne September 19, 1973, following the death of his grandfather, King GUSTAF VI ADOLF.

Heir Apparent: Crown Princess VICTORIA Ingrid Alice Désirée, daughter of the king.

Prime Minister: Stefan LÖFVEN (Social Democrats); elected by the Riksdag on October 2, 2014, to succeed Fredrik REINFELDT (Moderate Party), following the legislative elections of September 14; formed minority government on October 3, 2014; reelected on January 18, 2019, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles