Kingdom of Spain

Reino de España

Political Status: Formerly under a system of personal rule instituted in 1936; monarchy reestablished November 22, 1975, in accordance with the Law of Succession of July 26, 1947, as amended in 1969 and 1971; parliamentary monarchy confirmed by constitution effective December 29, 1978.

Area: 194,896 sq. mi. (504,782 sq. km).

Population: 46,866,000 (2020E—World Bank); 50,015,792 (2020E—U.S. Census). (Includes the Canary Islands, Ceuta, and Melilla.)

Major Urban Areas (2018E—World Population Review): MADRID (6,500,000), Barcelona (5,430,000), Valencia (898,000), Seville (761,000), Zaragoza (772,000), Málaga (601,000), Murcia (470,000).

Official Languages: Spanish and regional languages (principally Basque, Catalan, Galician, and Valencian).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

Monarch: FELIPE VI de Borbón y Grecia; enthroned as king on June 19, 2014, following the abdication of his ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles