• Country
  • Countries A-Z

South Sudan

Republic of South Sudan

Junhuriyat Janub Al-Sudan

Political Status: Independent republic established in 2011; transitional constitution approved on July 7, 2011.

Area: 967,494 sq. mi. (2,505,813 sq. km).

Population: 13,793,000 (2020E—UN); 10,561,244 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2015E—UN): Juba (321,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: South Sudanese Pound (market rate September 30, 2020: 167.93 pounds = $1US). The South Sudanese pound was introduced after independence in 2011.

President and Prime Minister: Salva KIIR Mayardit (Sudan People’s Liberation Movement); sworn in on July 9, 2011, following independence; previously appointed as president of the autonomous regional government of South Sudan (GOSS) on August 11, 2005, to succeed John GARANG (Sudan People’s Liberation Movement), who died in a helicopter crash on July 30, 2005; reappointed on May 28, 2010, following presidential elections during April 11–15.

First Vice ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles