• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Slovenia
Republika Slovenija

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence declared June 25, 1991, on the basis of a referendum held December 23, 1990; present constitution adopted December 23, 1991.

Area: 7,818 sq. mi. (20,251 sq. km).

Population: 2,071,000 (2020E—World Bank); 2,102,678 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—World Population Review): LJUBLJANA (275,000), Maribor (95,000), Cilje (38,000).

Official Language: Slovene.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US). Slovenia adopted the euro as its official currency on January 1, 2007. Its former currency was the tolar.

President: Borut PAHOR (ind., formerly Social Democrats); elected on December 2, 2012, in the second round of presidential balloting, succeeding Danilo TÜRK (nonparty); reelected in the second round of polling on November 12, 2017.

President of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles