• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Slovak Republic

Slovenská Republika

Political Status: Slovak Republic proclaimed upon separation of the constituent components of the Czech and Slovak Federative Republic (see article on Czech Republic) on January 1, 1993.

Area: 18,933 sq. mi. (49,035 sq. km).

Population: 5,459,000 (2020E—World Bank); 5,440,602 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2019E—UN): BRATISLAVA (424,000), Košice (237,000), Presov (95,000).

Official Language: Slovak.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US). The monetary unit was the koruna until Slovakia adopted the euro on January 1, 2009, at an exchange rate of 30.1260 koruny = 1 euro. (The official rate of the koruna on December 31, 2008, was 21.45 koruny = $1US.)

President: Zuzana ČAPUTOVÁ (ind., formerly Progressive Slovakia); popularly elected in runoff balloting on March 30, 2019, and inaugurated on June 15 for a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles