• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Seychelles

Repiblik Sesel

République des Seychelles

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since June 29, 1976; present constitution approved by referendum of June 18, 1993.

Area: 171 sq. mi. (429 sq. km).

Resident Population: 96,000 (2020E—World Bank); 95,981 (2020E—U.S. Census); some 30,000 Seychellois live abroad, mainly in Australia and the United Kingdom.

Major Urban Center (2018E—UN): VICTORIA (25,000).

National Languages: Creole, English, French.

Monetary Unit: Seychellois Rupee (market rate September 30, 2020: 17.96 rupees = $1US).

President: Daniel FAURE (People’s Party); elevated (from vice president) to the presidency on October 16, 2016, following the resignation of James Alix MICHEL (Seychelles People’s Progressive Front).

Vice President: Vincent MERITON (People’s Party); appointed by the president on October 28, 2016, to succeed Daniel FAURE (People’s Party) who was elevated to the presidency on October 16.

The ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles