• Country
  • Countries A-Z

São Tomé and Príncipe

Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe

República Democrática de São Tomé e Príncipe

Political Status: Achieved independence from Portugal on July 12, 1975; constitution of November 5, 1975, revised in December 1982, October 1987, August 1990, and March 2003; currently under multiparty mixed presidential-parliamentary system.

Area: 387 sq. mi. (1,001 sq. km).

Population: 215,056 (2020E—World Bank); 211,122 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2018E—UN): SÃO TOMÉ (80,000).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Dobra (market rate September 30, 2020: 21.06 dobras = $1US). Due to inflation, the dobra was redenominated on January 1, 2018, by the central bank at rate of 1,000 to 1.

President: Evaristo CARVALHO (Independent Democratic Action); directly elected in runoff balloting on August 7, 2016, and sworn in for a five-year term on September 3, succeeding Manuel PINTO DA ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles