• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Russian Federation/Russia

Rossiiskaya Federatsiya/Rossiya

Political Status: Formerly the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR), a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR); present official designations adopted on April 17, 1992; current constitution approved by referendum of December 12, 1993.

Area: 6,592,800 sq. mi. (17,075,400 sq. km).

Population: 146,618,000 (2020E—World Bank); 141,722,205 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—World Population Review: MOSCOW (12,100,000), St. Petersburg (formerly Leningrad, 5,028,000), Novosibirsk (1,419,000), Yekaterinburg (formerly Sverdlovsk, 1,350,000), Nizhny Novgorod (formerly Gorky, 1,284,000).

Official Languages: Russian, in addition to languages recognized by the constituent republics and autonomous areas.

Monetary Unit: Ruble (official rate September 30, 2020: 78.43 rubles = $1US).

President: Vladimir PUTIN (United Russia); elected on March 4, 2012, and inaugurated for a four-year term on May 7, succeeding Dmitri MEDVEDEV (United Russia); reelected on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles