• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Portuguese Republic

República Portuguesa

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed on October 5, 1910; corporative constitution of March 19, 1933, suspended following military coup of April 25, 1974; present constitution promulgated on April 2, 1976, with effect from April 25.

Area: 35,553 sq. mi. (92,082 sq. km).

Population: 10,265,000 (2020E—World Bank); 10,302,674 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (urban area, 2016E—UN): LISBON (2,902,000), Porto (Oporto, 1,304,000).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

President: Marcelo REBELO DE SOUSA (Social Democratic Party); elected on January 24, 2016, and inaugurated on March 9, for a five-year term; succeeding Aníbal CAVACO SILVA (Social Democratic Party).

Prime Minister: António COSTA (Socialist Party); designated by the president on November 23, 2015, and sworn in on November 26; succeeding Pedro Passos COELHO (Social Democratic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles