• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of the Philippines

Republika ng Pilipinas

Political Status: Independent republic since July 4, 1946; currently under constitution adopted by referendum of February 2, 1987, effective from February 11.

Area: 115,830 sq. mi. (300,000 sq. km).

Population: 110,041,000 (2020 World Bank); 109,180,815 (2020—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): METRO MANILA (13,131,000), Davao City (1,662,000), Cebu City (923,000).

Official Languages: Filipino and English.

Monetary Unit: Philippine Peso (market rate September 30, 2020: 48.48 pesos = $1US).

President: Rodrigo DUTERTE (Philippine Democratic Party–Laban); popularly elected on May 9, 2016, and inaugurated on June 30 for a fixed six-year term; succeeding Benigno S. AQUINO III (Liberal Party).

Vice President: Leni ROBREDO (Liberal Party); elected for a six-year term on May 9, 2016, and sworn in on June 30, succeeding Jejomar C. BINAY (Philippine Democratic Party–Laban).

The Country

Strategically located ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles