• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Panama
República de Panamá

Political Status: Became independent of Spain as part of Colombia (New Granada) in 1819; independent republic proclaimed on November 3, 1903; present constitution, adopted on September 13, 1972, substantially revised on April 24, 1983.

Area: 29,208 sq. mi. (75,650 sq. km).

Population: 4,279,000 (2020E—World Bank); 3,894,082 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—World Population Review): PANAMA (also known as Panama City, 1,783,000), San Miguelito (364,962).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Balboa (official rate September 30, 2020: 1.00 balboa = $1US). The balboa is at par with the U.S. dollar, which is also acceptable as legal tender.

President: Laurentino CORTIZO (Democratic Revolutionary Party); elected on May 5, 2019, and inaugurated on July 1 for a five-year term, succeeding Juan Carlos VARELA (Pro-Panamanian Party).

Vice President: Gabriel CARRISO (Democratic Revolutionary Party); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles