• Country
  • Countries A-Z

North Macedonia

Republic of North Macedonia
Republika Severna Makedonija

Note: The country was admitted to the United Nations (UN) in April 1993 as “The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia,” although international usage of this title (particularly in regard to capitalization) has varied, with the abbreviation FYROM sometimes being invoked. On February 13, 2019, the country formally notified the UN that it would henceforth be known as the Republic of North Macedonia, or simply North Macedonia (see Current issues, below).

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence proclaimed under constitution of November 17, 1991, on the basis of a referendum conducted September 8.

Area: 9,928 sq. mi. (25,713 sq. km).

Population: 2,079,000 (2020E—World Bank); 2,125,971 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2020E—World Population Review): SKOPJE (474,889).

Official Languages: Macedonian, Albanian. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles