Federal Republic of Nigeria

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since 1960; republic established in 1963; civilian government suspended as the result of military coups in January and July 1966; executive presidential system established under constitution effective October 1, 1979; under military rule following successive coups of December 31, 1983, and August 27, 1985; constitution of Third Republic promulgated May 3, 1989; existing state organs dissolved following military takeover of November 17, 1993; 1979 constitution restored and Provisional Ruling Council established on November 21, 1993; current constitution entered into effect May 29, 1999, with installation of new civilian government.

Area: 356,667 sq. mi. (923,768 sq. km).

Population: 206,104,000 (2020E—World Bank); 214,028,302 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): ABUJA (2,586,000), Lagos (13,661,000), Kano (3,676,000), Ibadan (3,243,000), Port Harcourt (2,465,000), ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles