• Country
  • Countries A-Z

New Zealand


Political Status: Constitutional democracy with Queen Elizabeth II as titular head of state; formally independent since 1947.

Area: 104,454 sq. mi. (270,534 sq. km).

Population: 5,137,000 (2020E—World Bank); 4,925,477 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E): WELLINGTON (383,000), Auckland (1,344,000), Christchurch (351,200).

Official Languages: English, Maori.

Monetary Unit: New Zealand Dollar (market rate September 30, 2020: 1.52 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Dame Patricia Lee “Patsy” REDDY; named by Queen Elizabeth II on March 21, 2016.

Prime Minister: Jacinda ARDERN (Labour Party); named by the governor general following a coalition agreement on October 19, 2017, after the parliamentary election of September 23, 2017, and sworn in on October 26, 2017, to succeed William English (National Party); reelected on October 17, 2020.

The Country

Located approximately 1,200 miles southeast of Australia in the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles