• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Netherlands: Curaçao

Country of Curaçao

Land Curaçao (Dutch)

Pais Kòrsou (Papiamento)

Political Status: Former Dutch dependency; from 1948 a component of the Netherlands Antilles, which became autonomous in internal affairs, under charter of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, effective December 29, 1954; achieved separate autonomous status in internal affairs upon dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles on October 10, 2010.

Area: 171 sq. mi. (444 sq. km).

Population: 163,000 (2020—World Bank); 151,345 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2015E—UN): WILLEMSTAD (145,000, urban area).

Official Languages: Dutch, English, and Papiamento (an Antillean hybrid, principally of Portuguese and Spanish).

Monetary Unit: Netherlands Antilles Guilder (official rate September 30, 2020: 1.78 guilders = $1US). The guilder is pegged to the U.S. dollar. A new Caribbean guilder, likewise pegged to the dollar, was to be introduced jointly by St. Maarten ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles