• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kingdom of the Netherlands

Koninkrijk der Nederlanden

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established 1814; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 13,103 sq. mi. (33,936 sq. km).

Population: 17,231,000 (2020E—World Bank); 17,280,000 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2018E—World Population Review): AMSTERDAM (742,000), Rotterdam (598,000), The Hague (seat of government, 474,000), Utrecht (291,000), Eindhoven (210,000).

Official Language: Dutch.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US).

Sovereign: King WILLEM-ALEXANDER; ascended the throne April 30, 2013, upon the abdication of his mother, Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard.

Heir Apparent: CATHARINA-AMALIA, Princess of Orange.

Prime Minister: Mark RUTTE (People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy); sworn in as head of a two-party minority coalition on October 14, 2010, following the general election of June 9, succeeding Jan Peter BALKENENDE (Christian Democratic Appeal); sworn in as head of a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles