• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Mozambique

República de Moçambique

Political Status: Former Portuguese dependency; became independent as the People’s Republic of Mozambique on June 25, 1975; present name adopted in constitution that came into effect on November 30, 1990.

Area: 309,494 sq. mi. (801,590 sq. km).

Population: 31,993,000 (2020E—World Bank); 30,098,197 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2016E—UN): MAPUTO (1,203,000, urban area).

Official Language: Portuguese (a number of African languages are also spoken).

Monetary Unit: Metical (market rate September 30, 2020: 71.40 new meticals = $1US). The “new metical” was introduced in 2006 at the rate of 1 new metical = 1,000 old meticals.

President: Filipe NYUSI (Mozambique Liberation Front); elected on October 15, 2014, and inaugurated on January 15, 2014, to succeed Armando Emilio GUEBUZA (Mozambique Liberation Front); reelected on October 15, 2019, and sworn in ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles