• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Mauritius

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy under multiparty parliamentary system established upon independence within the Commonwealth on March 12, 1968; became a republic on March 12, 1992.

Area: 790 sq. mi. (2,045 sq. km).

Population: 1,267,000 (2020E—World Bank); 1,379,365 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—UN): PORT LOUIS (155,226, Beau Bassin/Rose Hill (111,355), Vacoas-Phoenix (110,000).

Official Language: English (French is also used, while Creole is the lingua franca and Hindi the most widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Mauritian rupee (official rate September 30, 2020: 39.70 rupees = $1US).

President: Prithvirajsing “Pradeep” ROOPUN (Mauritian Socialist Movement); elected by parliament on December 2, 2019, and sworn in that day; succeeding Paramasivum Pillay “Barlen” VYAPOORY (Mauritian Socialist Movement), who had been elevated from the vice presidency to acting president on March 23, 2018, in succession to ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles