Republic of Malta

Repubblika ta’ Malta

Political Status: Became independent within the Commonwealth on September 21, 1964; republic declared by constitutional amendment on December 13, 1974.

Area: 122 sq. mi. (316 sq. km).

Population: 493,000 (2020E—World Bank); 457,267 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2016E—Government): VALLETTA (6,444, Birkirkara (22,247), Mosta (20,241, Qormi (16,799), Sliema (16,854).

Official Languages: Maltese, English; Italian is also widely spoken.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate September 30, 2020: 0.85 euro = $1US). The euro became Malta’s official currency on January 1, 2008, at a fixed rate of 1 euro = 0.4293 Maltese lira.

President: George VELLA (Malta Labour Party); elected on April 2, 2019, to a five-year term by the House of Representatives and sworn in on April 4, succeeding Marie-Louise COLEIRO PRECA (Malta Labour Party). (Presidents resign from ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles