Republic of Liberia

Political Status: Independent republic established in 1847; under de facto one-party system starting in 1878; martial law imposed on April 25, 1980, following coup of April 12; new constitution approved by national referendum on July 3, 1984 (with full effect from January 6, 1986 [the date of the inauguration of the new president]); constitution effectively voided by rebel action in mid-1990; Interim Government of National Unity (supported militarily by the Economic Community of West African States Monitoring Group) sworn in on November 22, 1990; State Council of Liberian Transitional National Government sworn in on March 7, 1994; new six-member State Council sworn in on September 1, 1995, following cease-fire agreement of August 19; amended version of 1995 cease-fire agreement signed by faction ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles