Kyrgyz Republic

Kyrgyz Respublikasy (Kyrgyz)

Respublika Kirgizstan (Russian)

Political Status: Designated autonomous republic of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic on February 1, 1926; became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on December 5, 1936; Republic of Kyrgyzstan proclaimed December 13, 1990; independence from the USSR declared by the Kyrgyz Supreme Soviet August 31, 1991; current constitution approved by referendum on June 27, 2010.

Area: 76,640 sq. mi. (198,500 sq. km).

Population: 6,517,000 (2020E—World Bank); 5,964,897 (2020E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2020E—UN): BISHKEK (formerly Frunze, 1,053,915), Osh (299,500).

Official Languages: Kyrgyz, Russian. Kyrgyz is the “state language.”

Monetary Unit: Som (market rate September 20, 2020: 79.60 soms = $1US).

President (Acting): Sadyr JAPAROV (Fatherhood); inaugurated on October 15, 2020 for a one-year interim term, to succeed Sooronbay JEENBEKOV (Social ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles